Welcome to Anyang

On Sunday I climbed a mountain. The header image above [edit: now below this post] is a picture I took halfway up. The sky has looked like that pretty much every day since I arrived in Korea on July 1st. I’ve been peering at the mountain through the narrow slit of light between two apartment buildings that reaches my bedroom window every day for the past few weeks. Some days you can barely see it at all through the low clouds. Others you can discern honey coloured rock outcrops on its upper reaches. On Sunday the clouds were no thinner  than usual but I had nothing to do so I thought I’d climb it anyway. The mountain is called Gwanak-san (관악산), the city you can just see occupying the entire plain between the surrounding mountains is Anyang (안양시), my home for the next year.

cropped-dscn0143.jpg

Leave a comment